What are you most thankful for this year?

thanksgiving

A Bit of History…..

In Canada, Thanksgiving is celebrated on the second Monday of October. The first Canadian Thanksgiving was celebrated on April 15, 1872 in thanks of the recovery of the future King Edward VII from a serious illness. The major reason why Canadians celebrated Thanksgiving originally was to show thanks for a successful harvest.

Families use this three-day Thanksgiving weekend to visit family or friends who live far away, or to invite them into their homes for a special meal that has been prepared diligently over the long weekend.
Traditionally, this includes roast turkey and seasonal produce, such as pumpkin and pecan nuts.
The Thanksgiving weekend is also a popular time to take a short autumn vacation as this is sometimes the last opportunity to use cottages or holiday homes before winter sets in. For our Canadian Football fans, it is also a time for to sit back and watch a Thanksgiving Day game.

This week we asked our bloggers what they are most thankful for. Here is what they had to say!


 Rachelle Mullings

1653587_10153758750310188_70289533_n

Thanksgiving is usually the holiday when I take time to reflect on what is most important to me. It also gives me a chance to reflect on the past year and re-prioritize my life.

So what am I most thankful for this year?

I am thankful: to be alive (many people have passed on this year), that most of my family and loved ones are in good health, to have a boyfriend who is supportive and loving, for a mind full of goals and aspirations that are slowly starting to fall into place, and for being able to appreciate the very simple things in life because so many people don’t even have the luxury or even the simplest thing as having clean drinking water.


 Shikha Somani

photo (1)

Many of us have so much to be thankful for, but when asked what we are thankful for we realize we take them for granted.  After taking a few minutes to think about it, I can say I am thankful for the following..what each moment brings me everyday

    1. I am so thankful to have the network of support I have, everyone I have come in contact with has somehow moved me or made me challenge myself by being a stronger person.

2.Many people don’t realize what education brings, but to me it gives me a foundation, a foundation for success.

3. I am fortunate enough to have options, but the ability to choose from those options is a luxury I am very thankful for.

Of course I am thankful for a lot more, but these are what top my list.


 Maha Shouman 

maha photo

I’m Thankful for:

1. My son I am especially grateful for the person he is becoming, and being able to watch him grow every day.

2. Awareness- This lets me live my life with intent and make each day count.

3. Money- I am incredibly lucky to have enough money so that I don’t need to worry about money. I’m not a big spender, but I also don’t need to think twice about going out on the weekend.

4. Boundaries- Setting good boundaries with the people in my life has made my life so much less stressful. It also made my relationships with others better because I no longer need to resent them.

5. Kindness of strangers – This makes me feel like all is not lost in the world. There is nothing sweeter than someone being kind to another person she never expects to see again.


  Rita Morais

Rita's photo

I’m thankful for:

1.My family. My mum and my brother are the two people I admire the most in the world. Having them in my life to look up to is a gift.

2.Love and being loved.

3.Having the freedom and the will to change the world

4.My education. Being given access to formal education, the informal education opportunities I have had and the education my family has provided me.

5.Being able to see the world. I’m glad I have the opportunity to be globally aware and to understand the world.

     6. Being Portuguese

7.Being an AIESECer

8. Being healthy

9.Having a house and food everyday

10. Having happiness and joy in my life

 


Andrea Olsen

thanksgiving-turkey (1)

Thanksgiving is a time for us to reflect on our lives and vocalize to others what we are grateful for. I always think of Thanksgiving as a time to be with family, eat way too much food and drink wine. And today I realized something I am truly thankful for…

We had a company Thanksgiving lunch on Wednesday this week, and everyone took the time to go around the room and express what they are thankful for. I quickly realized how silly my comment was about being grateful for family and good food. A large number of people mentioned living in a country like Canada where we are free to express ourselves, being in a working environment where we get to pursue what we are passionate about and all the many other things like education and health care that we as Canadians take for granted daily.

So when answering the question “what am I thankful for” – I am thankful that food, wine and family are the first things that pop into my mind. I am thankful that I get to be excited about these simple pleasures because I have the security of knowing that I have been given an education, I have the opportunity to work in a safe environment, and I am given the chance to pursue my passions in life.


Happy Thanksgiving Everyone! 

Nureva

Leave a Reply

